1. Clark County COPE Class Information / Court Approved Classes:
IF you have minor children (under 18 yrs), Petitioners must attend a “parenting class” & submit both certificates of class completion before the Judge signs Decree of Divorce.
You may attend a ‘physical’ class…OR, ‘online’ class. Internet/Online class available (approx. 4 hrs), as follows:
2. Nevada Child Support Guideline Calculator, supported by the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS):
As of March 1, 2020, Nevada made the most sweeping changes to its child support laws in over 30 years. The prior Nevada child support statutes in Chapter 125B of the Nevada Revised. Statutes were entirely replaced by administrative regulations set out as Chapter 425 of the Nevada Administrative Code; https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-425.html.
Those regulations, and the case law, govern who has an obligation, how long the obligation lasts, what the obligation is, when and how the obligation may be modified, and limited issues regarding collection of the obligation.
Basically, all parents have a duty to support their children, regardless of marital status. The duty of support continues until 18 (or 19, if the child is still in high school). The obligation could extend indefinitely for a handicapped child.
Nevada Child Support Formula: The math involved in the new calculations is more complicated than in the prior child support statutes. The new regulations eliminated both the prior statutory presumptive maximum (sometimes called “the cap”) and the prior $100 statutory presumptive minimum.
3. Eighth Judicial District Family Court: Search the status of your filed case:
4. State Bar of Nevada: